My Favorite Shots from 2016

Everyone likes to post their favorite photographs of the year so here are my favorite shots from 2016  in the order that they were taken.


SR-71A Blackbird

SR-71A Blackbird

This January I went to the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center in Chantilly, VA. One of the featured aircraft is an SR-71A Blackbird spy plane. I hung a 20″x30″ print of this over my TV.


Barred Owl

Barred Owl

Once in a while I’ll hear a Barred Owl or two in the woods behind my condo. I was a few miles away on a trail by the same woods when I found one of the owls.


Rusted Car

Rusted Car

My photography club visited an auto salvage yard. I like the reddish car in the woods surrounded by light green ferns.


trio_58013

Flight Trio

For 2 years I’ve been a photographer at the WWII Weekend in Reading, PA. Here some reenactors are posing in front of a B-25 Mitchell bomber.


Modern Meets Art Deco

Modern Meets Art Deco

I like Art Deco architecture and I captured the Comcast Center in Philadelphia, PA behind Suburban Station. I made the roof lines vertical instead of horizontical to make it a bit abstract. The photo earned Honorable Mention at the Harford Artists’ Association’s annual juried exhibit.


butterflies_66670d

3 Butterflies

I was taking a picture of an Eastern Swallowtail Butterfly on a thistle when it was joined by a Silver-spotted Skipper and a Spicebush Swallowtail.


car0034

Hot Rod

The Big M car show was revived last year. I took this picture with my old film camera from college, scanned the negative, and edited it digitally.


bucks_70838

Bucks Tussling

This photo is a favorite because of the subject rather than the quality. These two young bucks were playfully fighting in my back yard.


trees_71883

Aspen Grove

In October I attended a photography workshop in the Eastern Sierra. Our first stop was an aspen grove. When I told the instructor that I had a fisheye with me he suggested that I look straight up.


halfdome_73325h

Half Dome

My last full day in California I visited Yosemite. I took this picture of Half Dome from Olmsted Point.

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Shots from 2016

Leave a Reply

