Harford County Farm Fair 2014

Last year I entered some photos in the Maryland State Fair. Later some friends asked me why I hadn’t entered the Harford County Farm Fair. My answer was that the farm fair is about 4-H, baked goods, prize pumpkins, and tractor pulls. Well, I competed this year and earned several ribbons.

Chief Mate's Stateroom

Chief Mate’s Stateroom on SS John W. Brown

This picture won 1st place for Black and White, Other subject and was Champion B&W. It’s a stateroom on the SS John W. Brown Liberty ship that was built in Baltimore in 1942. It’s a 3-shot HDR processed with Google/Nik HDR Efex Pro 2. It’s one of my favorite photos from my first visit to the ship.

Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge

This colorful photo of the Tower Bridge over the Thames in London looks really nice on aluminum. However, because of the rules I entered an 11×14 print. It earned second place in Cityscape. I like how the bridge is painted.

Great Egret

Great Egret

I entered this Great Egret at Cape May Point, NJ in Birds and animals other than pets. It did not win anything, although I like how its neck matches the bend in the surrounding grasses. I plan to enter a version on canvas in another competition.

Leave a Reply

