Macro

The January photography club theme at the Havre de Grace Library was Macro. Before we looked at our photos, one of the club members gave an instructional presentation on macro photography. Technically, in a macro photograph the ratio of the subject to the camera’s sensor is 1:1 (1 to 1). That means for my D7000, whose APS-C sensor is 23.6mm (just under 1 inch) wide, I need to place my 90mm macro lens about 3 inches from the subject. Since I was further away for many of the photos, what I was taking were closeups. Since other club members also did this, we decided that we didn’t care what it was called; we knew what we liked.


Camera With Macro Lens

Camera With Macro Lens

This is a fun shot of my camera and new macro lens and was not intended to be a macro photograph.


Paperwhites

Closeup of Paperwhite Narcissus

A closeup of paperwhite narcissus blooms. The total width is 4+ inches. Notice that the background is entirely blurred out, which was my intention when I took this photo.


Paperwhites

Paperwhites Taken With Telephoto Lens

Another closeup, but this time I used my 300mm telephoto lens. I extended the lens all the way, then moved the tripod several feet away from the flowers until they were in focus. The photo shows that you don’t need a macro lens to take closeups.


Paperwhite

Macro Photo of Paperwhite Narcissus Blossom

My first true macro photograph. The flower is about 1 1/2 inches across and it does not fit in the frame. You can start to see the pollen on the stamens.


Dixie's Eye

Dixie's Eye

Since I did not stick the lens directly in Dixie’s face, this is another closeup. I like how clearly I can be seen in the reflection. I took this picture the night that I got the macro lens.


Dorothy

Dorothy

I tried a similar idea with my cat Dot’s face. Closeups and macros let you experiment with unusual compositions.


Wires

Wires

I put the lighting unit from a ceiling fan on my kitchen counter because I have halogen under-cabinet lights. I like the bokeh (white, blurry circles) in the upper right. This was selected as the favorite of my photos.


Cookie

Oreo Cookie

I took this photo to show the limited depth of field (DOF) of most macro photographs. Because the camera is at an angle to the cookie, there is a narrow strip that is in focus. The front and back of the cookie are blurry. This photo was surprisingly popular.


Paperwhite Narcissus

Extreme Closeup of Paperwhite Narcissus

Before I bought a macro lens, I would mount my 50mm prime lens face to face with my 200mm zoom lens. The combination has a ratio of 4:1. While the DOF is incredibly shallow, you can see the pollen grains.

Leave a Reply

