May 2010 — Fire

Writing fire with fire

Writing fire with fire

I had a lot of fun with the Fire topic. I wrote the word “fire” with fire and added a punning caption. I got the idea from a class assignment where I wrote my name on the wall with a laser pointer. To make this photo, I stood in front of the camera while wearing a dark, long-sleeve shirt. I set the shutter for several seconds, triggered it, and wrote the word in the air using a Bic lighter. It took me about 20 minutes to get a picture that I liked. Using Photoshop, I flipped the image (I wasn’t crazy enough to try to write backwards) and pasted in a candle flame from another picture to dot the “i”.

Writing fire with fire

Writing fire with fire

The same image without the dot over the “i”.

Candle

Candle

I burned out my creative brain cells on the first picture, so I settled for a long exposure of a candle flame. I like the rings reflected in the lens.

Laser Fred

Laser Fred

My inspiration. This was easy to do because I stood behind the camera, triggered the shutter, and wrote on the opposite wall. It took me only two or three tries to fill the frame.

Leave a Reply

