January 2010 — Slippery

My entries for January were a bit different than usual. I wanted to use ice for the Slippery theme, but we had above average temperatures all month. The last day of January I woke up to enormous icicles hanging from the gutters over my bathroom window. I took a lot of pictures, then waited a while and took more when the sun was higher and the icicles had started to melt.

Icicles outside my bathroom window

Icicles outside my bathroom window

I tried an angled shot to make the picture more interesting. I like how the dark tree trunks in the background match the light icicles.

Icicles outside my bathroom window

Icicles outside my bathroom window

A more traditional shot, again with similar background elements.

Icicles outside my bathroom window

Icicles outside my bathroom window

It was hard to take a closeup with the bright sun and surface water. Maybe I should have gone for an abstract look like on the right hand side.

Leave a Reply

